Books that Spoiled a Series

For me. My worst nightmare is having a series spoiled by a bad book, a runaway plot, or a dragging-along of a series past its due (looking at you, season 9 of Scrubs).

Instead of series I disliked much/most of the way through, I thought it would be more interesting to share what book made me put down a series (or which ending pissed me off). Here’s a few books I didn’t like after loving their predecessors.

Morning Star by Pierce Brown (Red Rising #3)

I was in love with Red Rising. I was so excited to enjoy I scifi book that I made my partner read it with me. I liked Golden Son. Morning Star took a shit upon my love and laughed at my dismay.

Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee (“TKAM #2”)

This is like shooting fish in a barrel. I’m not going to go in on this one. I’m still mad.

Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs (Miss Peregrine[…] #3)

Again, I was in love with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. Hollow City never felt right with me. I couldn’t sink into it the way I could with book 1. Either due to the massive span of time between reading books 2 and 3 (about two years) I disconnected from the story entirely. The plot was starting to feel more and more like a listless goose chase and I couldn’t manage past the first half of Library of Souls.

Mostly Harmless by Douglas Adams (HHGTTG #5)

I believe most people consider this series to have finished  at Life, The Universe, and Everything. There is good reason for this. Everything starts to stretch into too-long-running-sitcom territory and a feeling that everything is trying to hard. It’s still a solid okay, but given how much I enjoyed the first four, I was mad at this.

The Black Stallion’s Ghost by Walter Farley (The Black Stallion #17)

I wish this were a joke but hi, I was am a Horse Girl. This is all I read as a child. I think this was the first time as a child I read a book and went “this is bad.” I didn’t have a concept of bad books when I was young. I figured that it was hard to write a book and be an author, and Walter Farley had written so many books, so surely his books couldn’t be bad, right?

I don’t remember much of the plot but, from what I can recall, there wasn’t much of one. They see a ghost mare in the Everglades or something. It was bizarre, and it was the first time I figured that maybe, just maybe, this was a bit of a stretch and maybe there shouldn’t be 17 Black Stallion books. He should’ve stopped at The Black Stallion and Flame, #15 in the series.

(For the record I also hated The Black Stallion’s Sulky Colt (#10) though I persevered but The Black Stallion and the Girl (#18) was when I felt validated in my opinion of ‘Ghost’ because it, too, was shit. -3 stars)

Division Zero: Lex De Mortuis by Matthew S. Cox (Division Zero #2)

My beloved Kirsten (the main character) became unignorably, blatantly sexist and slut-shamey and boy, was I mad. I had a glass shattering moment where I thought back on the story as a whole and realized that I maybe didn’t like it as much as I was trying to. The author also had the habit of describing Kirsten’s body far too often. Just… no. I’m still sad and haven’t touched another paranormal sci-fi story since. Dammit.

A Wind in the Door by Madeline L’Engle (Time Quintet #2)

I hate these books. That seems like book blasphemy, I’m sorry, but I could not stand this. I liked the first one a bit. Or maybe I just tried really hard to like it because it seems like everyone is very “my childhood!” about these. I don’t really know. Charles Wallace is the most annoying little fucker I have ever endured through any work of fiction and it is only by the grace of a bedridden flu that I was able to finish this because I could do literally nothing else.

What book spoiled a series for you?

Follow me: Twitter | BookLikes | GoodReads | Bloglovin | Instagram

One thought on “Books that Spoiled a Series

  1. Isn’t is a shame when a book ruins a series? That book for me was Finger Lickin Fifteen (book 15) in the Stephanie Plum series. The series had been waning for a while but it was book 15 that made me realise how similar each book was and that the plots were basically the same. 😦
    Great post!!! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

