Library Loot #2: February 4 2017

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.

 

Since my last bout of library checkouts, I’ve calmed down a little – only four books instead of last month’s seven. The Vegetarian, like The Star-Touched Queen from last month’s Library Loot, I initially checked out in a digital format only to return it and put a hold on the physical copy because I knew I needed to hold these words in my hand.

25489025

The Vegetarian by Han Kang

After not really caring for Human Acts, I was hoping I would like this better. I finished it the other day and a lot of the imagery has been sitting with me ever since. It’s a dark, gruesome tale about a South Korean woman who becomes a vegetarian after having a nightmare about bloody meat. In case you are interested in this, content warning: instances of spousal rape and institutionalization in a mental hospital. [Goodreads]

10744752

Adaptation by Malinda Lo

Currently I’m partway through this, around page 50. I couldn’t be more apathetic towards this if I tried, which is a shame. It’s another sci-fi YA thing. I picked this up on someone else’s recommendation and I just… it’s looking DNF to me. I’ll give it another 50 pages or so to grab me but I really want to dig my teeth into the next book on my list! [Goodreads]

26156987

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

I am really excited to read this one! It’s an ownvoices novel about a trans girl named Amanda who meets a boy and wants to become closer to him, though she’s afraid of what will happen when she tells him that she’s trans. Although I’m normally not a huge contemporary fan, I browsed through the first few pages and it looks to be a good one. On top of that, I think it’s fantastic that the cover model is a trans girl is well. Look her up too! Her name is Kira Conley and she’s done some beautiful work. [Goodreads]

52397

Parable of the Sower by Octavia E. Butler

This is actually my first read with the Diverse Sci-Fi Fantasy Book Club on Twitter! You can find it under the hashtag #DSFFBookClub and should definitely join in. I haven’t read anything by Octavia Butler before but I know I have a couple books of hers on my TBR. This one I am going into synopsis-free, so I couldn’t tell you what it’s about. My understanding from what the librarian told me when I was checking out is it’s a sci-fi dystopian thing. If you want to know more: [Goodreads] 😉

2 thoughts on “Library Loot #2: February 4 2017

  1. I loved If I Was Your Girl, it was such a feel good story I couldn’t put it down. It really made me feel a greater understanding of what it would be like to be Trans. Also I learnt what Funnel Cake is- I’m in the UK so I’d not come across it before!

    Like

Leave a Reply

