Library Loot #1: January 11 2017

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.

Look, a meme! (I think we call these memes at least, I am a Bad Blogger.) I have been absolutely starved for books lately. This week I went a little overboard. Just a little. I’ve gone through six books so far this year and while I wait on some review requests to go through (or not) I figured I’d get a bit of selfish reading in too.

Read and Returned

15771862

Wave by Sonali Deraniyagala [Goodreads]

A nonfiction story about a woman who survived the 2004 tsunami in Sri Lanka. I listened to the audio version and it was read so slowly by the narrator that it really spoiled the story for me. I might pick this up as a hard copy at a later date but I couldn’t get past the bad audio on this.

 

 

23012877

Rat Queens Volume 2: The Far Reaching Tentacles of N’rygoth by Kurtis J. Wiebe, Roc Upchurch, Stjepan Šejić, Ed Brisson [Goodreads]

Really liked volume 2, although I did have to reread the entirety of Volume 1 to remember exactly what was going on since it had been nearly a year since I started the series. As ever, the artwork was delightful, and I am slightly in love with Dee and Hannah. Probably no review of this on the blog, since this about sums up my thoughts! I heartily recommend the series, as Volume 1 made it onto my Top 10 Reads of 2016 list (sort of).

On the TBR

I may have also put out seven holds. That’s a lot for me! Two are still waiting but I have five in my greedy hands.

288183132520367584755052461262425685200

Iron Cast by Destiny Soria [Goodreads]

I’ll be real, all I know about this is that it’s a YA historical-fiction fantasy and I’ve heard there’s little romance. Nearly broke my keyboard I hit the ‘place hold’ button so hard!

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi [Goodreads]

I was gone last year! I missed the hype! I’m sorry! I don’t know how much romance there is in this but I have faith.

Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins [Goodreads]

I am honestly not expecting to like this given how many times it’s been shelved under ‘Romance’ on Goodreads, but it’s been recommended to me time and time again so I’ll give it a go. I’m open to trying new things on occasion!

George by Alex Gino [Goodreads]

An #ownvoices MG novel about a trans girl that has, again, been recommended to me time and again, but I am far more warm to this out of the gate than I am Rebel Belle.

The Land of Forgotten Girls by Erin Entrada Kelly [Goodreads]

This just looks like it’s going to stomp on my heart. I’m in the midst of a cold so I need some MG that will cry my sinuses clean. (No, really, I am so ill. Please send NyQuil.)

What did you check out this week? Have you read any of my picks?

Follow me: Twitter | BookLikes | GoodReads | Bloglovin | Instagram

Save

3 thoughts on “Library Loot #1: January 11 2017

    • That’s awesome! I need to pick up Volume 3 of Rat Queens but I have a load of graphic novel series I’ve been trying to keep on top of. Rebel Belle was sadly not for me, but it was pretty fun anyhow. 🙂

      Like

  1. Pingback: Library Loot #2: February 4 2017 | READS to LIVE

Leave a Reply

