Top 10 Books of 2016 (sort of)

top-10-reads

I was on hiatus from the blog for the majority of 2016, and so it became a year of reading for me. Every choice I made was selfish and it was really nice, even though I missed the blog. I didn’t review much at all, so I figured I would share some of my favorite reads! Originally this was going to be a top ten, but 2016 was a year of kickass series and I couldn’t help myself so it’s more of a top 12.

The List

slammerkin1. Slammerkin by Emma Donoghue
I would marry the shit out of this book if I could. It was like being punched in the face with every page turn and I lived for it.

 

the-bear-and-the-nightingale

2. The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden
Vasya Petrovna is a badass and I love her. The noise I made when I found out there was a sequel in the works was inhuman. More fangirling in my review. I’ll spare you.

the-secret-horses-of-briar-hill

3. The Secret Horses of Briar Hill by Megan Shepherd
I got such a nostalgic kick from this that I absolutely wasn’t expecting. It felt so much like the horse books I loved as a child that I cried a couple of times. I am weak. Go read my review so I can persuade you into buying this into the horse person in your life.

saga

4-5. Saga (vol 1 + 2) by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t manage anything more coherent than that, sorry. My boyfriend even liked this and he hates graphic novels. And most books that I enjoy.

nimona

6. Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
2016 was also the year of the graphic novel for me (can you tell?). Nimona made my heart ache with its superb queerness. I so wish I hadn’t lost my copy.

 

the-raven-cycle

7-10. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater
I hate romance. Hate it. Not interested. This series made me weep like the sad little girl I am. Blue and Noah were so cute that thinking about their friendship makes my heart ache. The only book I didn’t five-star was Blue Lily, Lily Blue and I don’t recall why, but I remember powering through the series since worrying about Gansey gave me actual anxiety. I will follow Maggie Stiefvater to the ends of the earth just to read her grocery list.

sabriel-and-lirael

11-12. Sabriel and Lirael by Garth Nix
These should be on the honorable mentions, but these were just so damn good. (And have ace representation!) They took a while for me to settle in to but I love this world so much, and I adore the Abhorsen.

The alternate title for this blog post is “Alex is in love with these women and here is why”.

Honorable Mentions

rat-queensthe-rivals-of-versailleshyperbole-and-a-half

  • Rat Queens vol. 1 by Kurtis J. Wiebe and Roc Upchurch
  • The Rivals of Versailles by Sally Christie
  • Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh*

*I know this is blasphemy, but I never handle books dealing with depression very well when I’m having severe depression as well.

One thought on “Top 10 Books of 2016 (sort of)

  1. Pingback: Library Loot #1: January 11 2017 | READS to LIVE

Leave a Reply

