Review: The Bitter Kingdom (A Girl of Fire and Thorns #3) by Rae Carson

The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson

THE BITTER KINGDOM
(A GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS #3)
by RAE CARSON
Published: August 27th, 2013 by Greenwillow Books
Genre: fiction > young adult, fantasy
Pages: 433p
Source: Library borrow
Rating: ★★★★★

The champion must not waver.
The champion must not fear.
The gate of darkness closes.

Elisa is a fugitive.

Her enemies have stolen the man she loves, and they await her at the gate of darkness. Her country is on the brink of civil war, with her own soldiers ordered to kill her on sight.

Her Royal Majesty, Queen Lucero-Elisa né Riqueza de Vega, bearer of the Godstone, will lead her three loyal companions deep into the enemy’s kingdom, a land of ice and snow and brutal magic, to rescue Hector and win back her throne. Her power grows with every step, and the shocking secrets she will uncover on this, her final journey, could change the course of history.

But that is not all. She has a larger destiny. She must become the champion the world has been waiting for.

Even of those who hate her most.

Goodreads | Amazon

I’m not crying, you’re crying. This isn’t even a review. If you want a review, turn back now.

That’s the trilogy complete, none of which I’m capable of writing a real review on. This series is so important to me. It reminds me that YA fantasy doesn’t have to be poorly-written or have mediocre worldbuilding or be set in Totally Not An England Analogue or be about bland white people. Everyone is real and whole and people actually die! The worldbuilding is unequaled in YA fantasy. Elisa is incredible and Mula made me cry at least four times.

I honestly don’t recall the last time YA has impressed me this way. I will follow Rae Carson to the end of the earth and read her grocery list if I have to.

     MEET YOUR BLOGGER!

Your blogger just hours before the release of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2.

My name is Alex, and I’m a twenty-something queer girl from the midwest with a hardcore fiction addiction. I don’t care for romance in books, but I love my cat and cute video games.

Twitter | BookLikes | GoodReads | Bloglovin | Instagram

Save

Leave a Reply

